An Old School Catholic Message Board

Trappists/trappistines

DevotedtoHim

DevotedtoHim

I don't think anybody here has ever talked about discerning with them. Has anybody and what has your experience been? Why do you think we haven't discussed them?
TIA,
Katherine

VeniteAdoremus

Probably because they're pretty close to many Benedictines? I don't know :)

There are trappists and trappistines in my country, both orthodox. The brother of a good friend is entering with the trappists after he finishes his studies next year. The nuns just moved to a new monastery because the outer world had grown too close around them.

VeniteAdoremus

[quote name='Hilde' post='1934908' date='Jul 29 2009, 11:11 PM']I'm going on a retreat with cistercians soon, other than that i have no experience.:)[/quote]

If they're the sisters I think they are, tell the Dutch sister tall Anna says hi :)

Haha, it will be interesting because I've never had a close encounter with this order or gone to a retreat with a more contemplative order.

I don't know why they're not talked about so much really. I don't know how many of them you have over there.

littlesister

One guess that the Trappistines are not as well known here as some other Orders is that they have no recent well-known Saint or Blessed (like St. Therese or St. Teresa Benedicta) to draw attention to them.
Another guess is that they have many fewer monasteries than some other Orders, and in general they are more complicated to reach.
The Trappistines have a wonderful charism, a perfect liturgy, and a balanced life. They also have beautiful web sites, especially St. Mary's Abbey in Wrentham, Massachusetts - where we've made some blessed retreats - and others in Sonoita, AZ, Charlottesville VA., and Our Lady of the Vallley in Iowa.
All have guesthouses, acres of property, and easy retreat possibilities. To those who are discerning a cloistered calling : God bless your journey and don't overlook them!

puellapaschalis