An Old School Catholic Message Board

How Long Have You Been Discerning?

water

I have been for a very long time. I started to feel a tug in my heart towards the religious life practically seven years ago but didn't accept it until over five years ago.

Thanks. That's giving me an idea how much I need to be patient. :) I thought about religious life in the last 2 years but had never taken any step towards it because I was in a relationship. Until recently, I decided to end the relationship for discernment. It is hard and sometimes I even felt like why I am going through all this but there's always peace in my heart that I am doing the right thing.

Maria Faustina

Well, I have known I had a vocation since I was in 4th grade. However, I did pay attention to it until 7th grade, so I've been discerning for 2 years, and I am like 99.9% I have a vocation.

My discernment has taken me 2 1/2 years. Now I play the waiting game. It seems that some people take only a few months and others take 10 years to discern God's call. What I've learned is that God works in His own time frame, not mine. Be patient and persevere.

Edited by Mari Therese

the lords sheep

I began to feel a tug over 8 years ago, and began looking around (talking with Sisters, going to a vocation prayer group for women) about 7 years ago.
Be patient. It's really hard, but God will let you know what He wants when he knows that you're ready.
God bless!

VeniteAdoremus

According to my dad, I talked about it before I was even baptised (my parents were of the "let them make their own decisions"-school), but I don't remember anything about that.

I started looking into it with wildly differing enthusiasm about three years ago, and hope to enter July 2009 (after I've finished my degree).

I get the feeling that my discernment was pretty short!

Carmeliteheart726