An Old School Catholic Message Board

For Prots - What Does Eat Flesh And Drink Blood Mean

thessalonian

thessalonian

The purpose of this thread is NOT to discuss transubstantiation. Jesus said "unless you eat the flesh of the son of man and drink his blood you shall not have life within you." He said "my flesh is true food, my blood is true drink".

Autumn Dusk

I'm not a protestant but my roommate is and we've had many a discussion about religion.

To her this meant that she had to share in the suffering and joys of Christ symbolically. That we must "truly" be dedicated with heart and soul.

Madame Vengier

I grew up in the Bible Belt and yes, they think it is strictly "symbolic". The wine is a *symbol* of Christ's blood, and the bread is a *symbol* of his body. Actually, most Prots don't use wine anyway so it's grape juice. Grape juice is a symbol of wine. A symbol on top of a symbol on top of another symbol.

You can't challenge them either. If you try to their eyes glaze over and smoke comes out of their ears. They are completely incapable of explaining to you why it is that they take 98% of everything in the Bible LITERALLY except for the Eucharist and the teaching on divorce. Those two things....eh, they can sugarcoat it somehow. Suddenly, when it comes to those two things it's like, Jesus didn't really mean what he was saying. He was just talking in code or something.

It's not their fault. They have been spoonfed 500 years of a half-baked theology that has its origins in outright heresy and they are confused. If they knew the One True Church, they would love it.