An Old School Catholic Message Board

Wanting To Enter A Cloistered Convent

rizz_loves_jesus

rizz_loves_jesus

So my mom and I were talking last night. She was telling me of her worries of our family being torn apart. This bothered me, because I plan to enter into a cloistered convent. I informed her of my plans. Big mistake. She freaked out. She told me that she would leave the Church if I did so, because she wouldn't ever be able to talk to me and that I would "be splitting the family apart".

So, I guess I just don't know what to do. I want to enter a convent badly, I feel God is calling me to do so. I don't want to live in this world. I want detachment. But if my vocation is going to cause someone to leave the church... is it worth it?

irishdancer

A little note to let you know that you and your mother are in my prayers. I'm new to the discernment process but in the past two years I have learned that "me" and "my vocation" are not separate. God's creation of me includes the call to serve in a particular way. Understanding and following it is not simple or easy but I guess it is my responsibility. At least that's what I've come to.

As for your mother, she too is loved by God and has that same responsibility. I hope you have a wise person to talk with.

Michaela

Edited by irishdancer

[quote name='rizz_loves_jesus' post='1480676' date='Mar 20 2008, 02:01 PM']So my mom and I were talking last night. She was telling me of her worries of our family being torn apart. This bothered me, because I plan to enter into a cloistered convent. I informed her of my plans. Big mistake. She freaked out. She told me that she would leave the Church if I did so, because she wouldn't ever be able to talk to me and that I would "be splitting the family apart".