An Old School Catholic Message Board

Silly Question For Discerning Girls

Thomist-in-Training

Thomist-in-Training

Is anyone romantic like me and growing out her hair in order to cut it off at investment (God willing)?

I've been growing it out for three years now (at first just for fun) but sometimes I am lazy and wash it a day later than I should have, because it takes a while to wash and dry; sometimes I do manage to make it look nice, and start to get vain. Then I wonder whether I'm being silly and shouldn't chop it off. Of course, I often avoid these extremes as well.

A lovely girl I know who recently entered a convent decided, when she had decided to enter, to have her sister cut off her hair--it was about shoulder blade length and she had it cut to about chin length--so it will grow to her shoulders or so for investment, and she can cut it then too. This seems like it could be one good approach.

Does anyone else go through this, or is it just me? (If it helps, my hair is also a little past shoulder blade length--not Rapunzelish, but certainly the longest it's been since I was little.)

Well, I'm just lazy... I only get my hair cut once a year, usually around Christmas. I would think that if you've been growing it for that long before you enter it would be a LOT of hair to have under a postulant veil, I would cut it before you enter (but not really short) and then again at investment. One of my friend spent an hour (if I'm remebering right) braiding her hair and then putting it up so that it would lay flat under her postulant veil.

Edited by sunnysideup

Maria_Faustina