An Old School Catholic Message Board

Sisters Of St. Benedict Center, Slaves Of The Immaculate Heart Of Mary

Sr Mary Catharine OP

Sr Mary Catharine OP

I would like to introduce to all of you a community that I know well, [url="http://www.sistersofstbenedictcenter.org"]The Sisters of St. Benedict Center, Slaves of the Immaculate Heart of Mary [/url]
This a diocesan religious community that has the Tridentine Mass and Vespers and Compline in Latin.

It's a small community and many of the Sisters are older but still it's a very lively community. They have a strong support of lay people and there is a real family atmosphere.

I know the community well as they taught me in school and I was a novice with them for 2 years. I left because I wanted a more contemplative community with the full Divine Office which they don't have. However, the place is very conducive to contemplative prayer and the community schedule leaves plenty of time for an individual to have more time for prayer if they wish.

If you wish to inquire ask for Sr. Cecilia who is the prioress. While not Benedictine, in the benedictine tradition they have a wonderful spirit of hospitality.

This Order prints/publishes some of the prettiest and most orthodox resources I have ever seen. I believe some of their work is responsible for my eldest daughter's vocation.

I had heard that they offer retreats. My second daughter is beginning to consider the possibility of religious life. I would love for her to have to chance to visit them! Sister, do you know if they are indeed offering retreats?