An Old School Catholic Message Board

Divine Immutability

N/A Gone

Thy Geekdom Come

Divine immutability, as I understand it, means that there is no change in God. I'm not an expert in Eastern theology, but I would suspect they agree.

However, immutability is not the same as saying that God doesn't..."respond"...to things we do...depending on your perspective and definition of response.

I think it should be for every human being regardless of creed.

How could God possibly change? Would he change for the better or change for the worse? Would He change His mind, or change His will? If these things were possible His Divine Nature would change into a limited finite nature which we know is impossible.

If this were possible He wouldnt be God. It would mean that He is divided. If God could change He would be subject to Time. Time is the ordering and separation of events into a fixed sequence of before and after. If God could change He would be subject to moments in Time, since one moment He would be (A) God and after the change He would be (B) God after He changed. But God is Eternity existing beyond Time and unbounded by Time. And since God is Eternity, beyond Time and Place: He is One, Undivided, Unlimited. And therefore He is One Divine Eternal Act. One Divine Eternal Act is God.

If God could change He would be fallible. Yet we know God is entirely infallible: without flaw, omission, or imperfection.

Just some jumbled thoughts to share

Divine Immutability seems to be a requisite for Christianity as a whole. However, some people unknowingly maintain beliefs that call the doctrine into question, the most common of these being if God experiences emotion. For many, this implies that God's "feelings" change, which would imply that He is not immutable. However, there is a plethora of scriptural references to God's responses (as Raphael put it) of anger, delight, etc.