An Old School Catholic Message Board

Harassment Of Homosexuals In The Military

infinitelord1

infinitelord1

Since I have been in the Army I have been recieving harassment by my comrades for their suspicions of me being gay. It got really bad when i got to my first duty station here at (specific location edited) Korea. I finally launched an attack on the US Army by writing a distress letter to a United States Senator. The following are some letters that were exchanged between me and the US Army via Sen. S.... (this story is much bigger than what the letters reveal and I will cover that later in this thread)....

Dear Congressman/Congresswoman,

I am an American Soldier. About a year ago and a half ago, I received, what I believed to be, a message from God telling me to join the army. Now I am questioning whether or not it really was of God. I have been in the army for a year now. My training was long (for my job) and I finally made it to my first unit about 3 months ago. Things were OK for the most part until I reached my unit. I have been suffering from depression for a very long time now so I don’t really talk much. When I first got to my unit people gave me a chance. Now I am alienated from everybody. It all started shortly after I got to my unit. Certain people started to think that I was gay because I never talk about girls. How do I know this? Because I would hear them talking to other people about it when they thought I wasn’t around. Also people started making comments that were very indirect about the issue and they would look at each other trying not to laugh. I would ask them, “what is so funny” the average response would be “nothing” then they would just shake their head. I sensed that this idea spread like wildfire amongst them since they would all give me dirty looks and started to alienate me. Eventually it got to the point where quite a few of them would say the word fag as I would walk by or I would hear them say “I heard that guy was gay” or even