An Old School Catholic Message Board

I'm A Novice Now!

Guest JeffCR07

Guest JeffCR07

I'm officially Brother Jeff in the Eastern Province of the Order of Preachers!

you can read about my class and see a picture of us all [url="http://www.dominicanfriars.org/2007/08/13/15-new-novices/"]here[/url]

I'll be praying for everyone!

Brother Jeff

Br. Jeffrey Reese, OP! Congratulations! (Why didn't you take a religious name though?)

But, congratulations!

• 2 weeks later...
Guest JeffCR07

[quote name='brendan1104' post='1359032' date='Aug 14 2007, 10:54 PM']Br. Jeffrey Reese, OP! Congratulations! (Why didn't you take a religious name though?)

But, congratulations![/quote]

Actually, my not taking a religious name came as a pretty big surprise to me. I was set on taking the name Anselm, but as Vestition drew closer and closer, it felt less and less right. Ultimately, I figured out (through a lot of tough prayer) that the religious names I would take are all the names of great philosophers and theologians, and for me that is exactly the wrong reason to take a name. If I had taken a name like Anselm of Thomas, and taken it solely on account of their philosophy and theology, then I would have felt personally tied to a particular philosophical or theological outlook. I didn't (and don't) want to spend my life as a religious justifying the opinions of my namesake to others, or justifying why I disagree with my namesake.

That having been said, I firmly believe that taking a religious name is a good thing, and I am certain that I will be taking a devotional name at First Profession, which is traditionally an option for Dominicans. Right now I'm thinking it will be "Dominic," so after Profession I will be Brother Jeffrey Dominic Reese :D

Thanks for all the prayers! Please pray for our Dominican Sisters as well!

Brother Jeffrey

Sr Mary Catharine OP