An Old School Catholic Message Board

Discernment Woes

Guest Discerner-er

Guest Discerner-er

I have been discerning with a missionary group called Maryknoll for about two years now. I am a 25 years old male and I am a middle school teacher in NYC. I have wanted to become a priest off and on for the past 5 years. The thing is, that when it's on and I'm really "feeling it", I know that God wants me to be nothing else but a Maryknoll Priest. But, when I'm not "feeling it" I get sucked in by the material world and want nothing more but to indulge in the pleasures of life and for some reason the idea of religious life get pushed aside. Now for me, it's been like this for a while where I've been back and forth between my highs and lows. But recently, in the past year or so, I've felt really good about things and have decided to apply for admission this spring. But just when I thought I had finally made this decision, everything in my current life had come together. I've been really teaching great lessons and my students have been learning so much, my band wants to record a record, I found a great apartment, and I've been getting along with my family. So NOW, I'm back to a state of confusion. My vision and the path that I thought God placed before me is now a foggy road. Is this a temptation, a test, or just the fruition of hard work. I mean, I don't think my reason for becoming a priest was to live a lavish life, especially as a missionary priest, so this is a decision I have to make. My application is due in a few weeks. I have had these feelings of hesitation in the past and they've faded shortly after. I know I feel comfortable right now, but will it last? Any encouragement or feedback would be greatly appreciated. Maybe we could also discuss other difficulties people are facing along their journeys? [url="http://www.phatmass.com/phorum/style_emoticons/default/annoyed.gif"]http://www.phatmass.com/phorum/style_emoti...ult/annoyed.gif[/url]

Welcome to the phamily!