An Old School Catholic Message Board

Nearly Seventeen... And Nearly Positive

Guest eight_days_after

Guest eight_days_after

Hello all! I joined earlier today, and was astounded by this section! i had no idea that so many people are discerning... My diocese is in the top ten in the country for vocations entrants... but i have never seen so many people actually so positive about it! :D: its a very good thing... I no longer feel so alone.

I have been discerning for two years now... and am nearly positive that i have been called to the religious life... but im only almost seventeen... is that normal? Its not that i am not open to marraige or single life, but so many things have happened to point toward being a sister... they seem to be coming closer and closer together in time too....

also... i think that it is what i want to devote my life to... no... devote is the wrong word, I know I am meant to surrender my very being to our Heavenly Father... I know i can give up materialistic possessions, and i know I can also leave my family and friends... but there is one person that i dont know if i can leave behind... she and I have been through alot together, and she is the only best friend i have ever had... but she has already lost so much... although it wouldn't be for years yet, i dont know if she could stand to lose me too...

I dont know what im getting at... I would just ask for a moment out of your day to say a quick prayer for my discernment... I have been incredibly confused lately... also, my mother does not approve at all, so prayers for her change of heart would also be greatly appreciated. =D

VeniteAdoremus

Welcome, and prayers for you and your vocation!

Things you probably will be hearing a lot here: St. Teresa of Lisieux [i]entered[/i] one of the toughtest orders at 16... so no, 17 isn't too young to know. At the same time, 75 isn't too old for some, either... all in God's time.