An Old School Catholic Message Board

Why Catholicism

desertwoman

and not Orthodox? I've been studying about Catholicism for about 2 years now and there are still things that I don't grasp or understand. During the course of the New Year, I've been talking to a real cool Coptic friend of mine and some of his reasons why he didn't choose to be Coptic Catholic and remained Coptic Orthodox.

Of course, they don't view the Pope as infallible, and they don't believe in the IC. They do believe that Mary is the Theotokos, but she was a human and not born sinless. If Mary was born sinless, then she could have been sufficient for our sins (which I do agree about). I do believe that she is special for she bore the Christ, but she was just a human being like the rest of us. Full of grace yes, but born sinless... no. Plus, they have qualms about these revelations coming forth afterwards, that these were not what the apostles preached at first. They all preached about Christ being present in the Eucharist, and that there are seven sacraments and so forth, but the others are seen as addition to tradition that all the apostles taught in the four corners of the earth.

What say ye? :idontknow:

dairygirl4u2c

i don't think the orthodox church gets the credit it deserves.

to me, even now to a degree, i always looked at them as some church way over there, separate from me and anything of matter. but as i give it more thought, i realize they coudl be just as right as the CC. it doesn't necessarily have to be where i am what's right.

isorta like i usta look at islam as a bunch of religois folk who did lots of rituals way over there with not muc hthought. now i give them a lot more attention. true, some of that is concern and bias as if they are violent etc, but i do consider them more now. like soemone who finally becomes assertive everyone now realizes they exist and takes them seriously.