An Old School Catholic Message Board

Prayer And Advice Needed

HeavenlyCalling

HeavenlyCalling

Well, I have been discerning the religious life for a while (and it has [i]flown[/i] by). I told my parents when I was discerning to the Sisters of Mary, Mother of the Eucharist, and looking at other communities like the Nashvilles or the Carmelites of the Most Sacred Heart of Los Angeles, and my parents were fine with that. But now that I am looking more and more seriously into the cloistered life, I have run into a problem. My mom says that during a time when vocations are at a low, it is rather selfish to be a nun. She thinks that I should be a sister with an actice apostlet. It's not that she is scared of the cloister, it is that she seems to think I would be able to do more good in the world if I was a teacher or a nurse or someone who works with the poor. I really just dont know how to respond, and I am starting to think that maybe she has a point, please advise me and keep me in your prayers.
Thanks,
Lily

cathoholic_anonymous

While he was in Bethany, reclining at the table in the home of a man known as Simon the Leper, a woman came with an alabaster jar of very expensive perfume, made of pure nard. She broke the jar and poured the perfume on his head.

Some of those present were saying indignantly to one another, "Why this waste of perfume? It could have been sold for more than a year's wages and the money given to the poor." And they rebuked her harshly.

"Leave her alone," said Jesus. "Why are you bothering her? She has done a beautiful thing to me. The poor you will always have with you, and you can help them any time you want. But you will not always have me. She did what she could. She poured perfume on my body beforehand to prepare for my burial. I tell you the truth, wherever the gospel is preached throughout the world, what she has done will also be told, in memory of her." (Mark 4:3-9.)