An Old School Catholic Message Board

The Liturgy Of The Hours...

HeavenlyCalling

HeavenlyCalling

Ok, I really want to get into saying the [s]Litergy[/s] Liturgy of the Hours ( like a nun-prep thing, ish :huh:) is there a website or something that has a 'Litergy of the Hours for Dummies'? I have looked up a few but you need more then one person, is there a way to do it with only one?

mods: if this is in the wrong place, please move it, this isjust the board I go one most of the time :blush:

Thanks and God Bless!

Edited by hugheyforlife

Don't know of any website that has precisely what you're looking for, but if you're praying it alone, you just pray all the parts yourself instead of alternating between sides like you would in choir

I've been praying parts of the office for many months now. Its a great way to frame my day.

try this link to start with
[url="http://www.universalis.com/20031201/readings.htm"]http://www.universalis.com/20031201/readings.htm[/url]

blessings, linnie

Try the following just read the prayers yourself. The LOH is a community prayer but is often said by oneself :D:

[url="http://www.isi.edu/~chiang/personal/hours.html"]http://www.isi.edu/~chiang/personal/hours.html[/url]

HeavenlyCalling

I am still a bit confused at what time do you say each hour (these are the ones that are Martins, Lauds, Vespers, ect. right? or I am going crazy :crazy: ?)

Office of Readings - anytime
Morning Prayer - around dawn
Daytime Prayer - midmorning, midday, or midafternoon, it's up to you
Evening Prayer - around sunset
Night Prayer - before going to bed

franciscanheart

Heavenly Calling,

I would strongly suggest purchasing a copy for your use. The set can be a bit pricey but the one edition is fairly reasonable. (You can get one for less than $40, new.)

And MilesChristi, there are actually readings and such for midmorning, middday, and midafternoon.