An Old School Catholic Message Board

Home Schooling

Church Punk

I notice that a few people on here seem to support home schooling. (homeschoolmom) HAHAH.

Anyway, I guess I am new to this concept as I personally know of no one that has done this before. I was just wondering what your opinion on this would be and reason for it.

If any of you are involved in home schooling what is your take on this compared to a Catholic school for your children or self?

I was homeschooled and I will homeschool my children (when they start poppin' out). Public schools are loaded with junk "education" that is a waste of time and ends up being retaught by the parents anyways. The Catholic schools in Dallas are great as far as scholastic abilities, but they lack orthodox Catholicism. I can teach my kids the truth and they will learn skills that kids in public schools don't seem to pick up. Homeschooling also allows the ability to experience things that wouldn't be possible in public school. My mom spent a whole semester teaching us about the Civil War and took us to Louisiana to meet with some reenactors at their camp.

However, hmeschooling should not be used to shelter your kids from the outside world. Many homeschoolers are thus because their parents don't want them to become "bad kids". I've seen it work, but I've also seen the kids become socially inept.

"But what about social lives. How do homeschoolers meet people?" Good question. When I was homeschooled, there were very few homeschoolers, and it wasn't fully legal yet. (My mom used to tell us to tell the truent officers that we were in public school co-op if we were ever approached.) Now there are homeschool youth groups, as well as church youth groups, sports with the YMCA, homeschool co-ops, etc.