An Old School Catholic Message Board

The New Buddha?

littlebreakdowns

littlebreakdowns

[url="http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20051123/ap_on_re_as/nepal_buddha"]Teen in Nepal new Buddha?[/url]

I thought this article was interesting. I'm not Buddhist (I consider myself Catholic but I'm in RCIA), but I studied Buddhism for many years and it will always have a special place in my heart. Gotta love the non-violence aspect of it all. :)

So I guess I'm just putting this out there. Do you think that those who see him as "the new Buddha" are nuts? Are they willingly worshiping a false idol or do they really believe they're worshiping the *right* path? Does it make them wrong if it's not the same path you follow?

I've often wondered if everyone really follows the same God, those who follow a religion anyway, but that some only get *part* of it. Even the Catholics admit the idea of "magic" but say we don't know what forces that messes with. That being said, maybe Pagans "get" part of God, but don't see the whole picture. Perhaps the same could be said of Buddhists, Hindus, and other religions.

What are your thoughts?

Teresa

the guy looks crazy cool. we used to have a ton of mystics who had long fasts like this, who would go on consuming nothing but the Eucharist for whole years sometimes.

anyway, the guy is exhibiting a tremendous amount of self control (something that is good in any fallen human being) and even apparently showing humility.

such things happen outside of the Christian world, they speak more to the tremendous power of a disciplined soul to overcome his inadequacies than to the idea of a spiritual force producing miracles apart from Christ (which can happen and be demonic, certainly).