An Old School Catholic Message Board

avoiding scandal

photosynthesis

photosynthesis

I've been wondering about what appropriate boundaries are for priests and laypeople.

There are situations in which priests that I've been working with have invited me out to lunch to discuss campus ministry (I'm a college student + in charge of catholic campus ministry). I don't have a car, so they would pick me up, take me out to lunch, and drive me home.

I'm a female, and I'll start out with saying that I wouldn't ever EVER ever ever ever (ever times infinity) be interested in having relationships with priests, because that is morally wrong. And since these priests are good priests, they are committed to living out the vows that they have made. Yay for keeping vows!

However, I am concerned about maintaining boundaries and avoiding scandal, especially after that episode that happened with the pastor at St. Patrick's cathedral in New York City. It might be odd to see a priest and a woman alone in a car, or in a restaurant, or some other ordinary place. People might think something immoral is going on, even if the relationship is pure and platonic.

However, if I were male, it wouldn't really matter at all.

Are there any guidelines that the Church has already set in terms of priests and their relationships with laypeople (specifically laywomen)? I'm talking about pure and platonic relationships, and not romantic/sexual relationships.

Edited by photosynthesis

I don't think we are required to forego perfectly innocent actions for the sake of scandal-mongers. yes, avoid making scandal for normal people, but scandal-mongers such as those that would read something into that are beneath us.