An Old School Catholic Message Board

Gay/Lesbian Parents

picchick

I was unsure of where to put this. Right now I am studying Child and Adolescence Psychology.

[quote]Research on homosexual parents and children is limited and based on small samples.  Nevertheless, findings consistently indicate that gay and lesbian parents are as committed to and effective at child rearing as are heterosexual parents.  (Patterson, 2001).  Some evidence suggests that gay fathers are more consistent in setting limits and more responsive to their children's needs than are heterosexual fathers, perhaps because gay men's less traditional gender identity fosters involvement with children (Bigner and Jacobsen, 1989).  In lesbian families, quality of mother-child interaction is a positive as in heterosexual families.  And children of lesbian mothers regard their mother's partner as very much a parent (Brewaeys et al., 1997). [/quote]

[u]Child Development[/u] Laura E Berk

My thoughts:

Sure the child may have the fatherly influence but what about the motherly influence? Visa versa for the lesbian family. I believe that to develop normally and stabely a child needs to have a motherly and fatherly figure. The reason being is that men and women are created differently not only physically but mentally and emotionally. Women tend to be the more compassionate (although authoritative). Men can and are compassionate as well but they are seen as a diciplinarian.

The book says this about children of single parents (mothers in this case)
[quote]Also, when children of never-married mothers lack the warmth and involvement of a father, they achieve less well in school and engage in more antisocial behavior....[/quote]
Now couldn't this be applied to the gay/lesbian families?

The book went on to say that the child develops normally. Now I have this to say about that. Don't you think that the child may be made fun of for having two mommies or two daddies?

Meg