An Old School Catholic Message Board

Inquisition

avemaria40

What really went on in the Inquisition? Now, I'm not sure b/c i've read medieval history and it always points the Inquisition in the same way, the Inquisition was to suppress heresy and many ppl were killed for heresy and such. However, did the Inquisition exist just to get rid of those w/different beliefs, or was it to keep ppl safe or what? Now i'm confused

Edited by avemaria40

Brother Adam

Check out the catholic.com tracks. I know that it was either that or the crusades that they were killing those who had religions in which they slaughtered their own children to their gods.

Actually, check out the Phatmass defence directory. [url="http://www.phatmass.com/directory/index.php/cat_id/33"]http://www.phatmass.com/directory/index.php/cat_id/33[/url]. Includes the Inquisition. Loads of info there.

I am an amateur historian who has studied history for years. One thing that holds true of any history: History is written by the victors. i.e. whoever was in power wrote history and leaned in favor of whoever was writing it. Therego, when trying to get an objective view of history, one must find the right sources. Three different kinds of sources are the required norm before you can get an objective opinion. Get a source from one view, then they opposing view, and finally, an unbiased source. This last one is the most difficult to find and the most important one of all. One must compare the first two sources with each other. In aspects where they come close to same conclusion, one may reasonably be sure they are factual. However, in the case of military history (my main field of study) the commanders of armies always tend to overestimate the number of troops and advantages their enemy had and underestimate their own, whether the outcome was victory or defeat. In that case, it's best to choose an average. Also, the eyewitness accounts are invaluable in these cases. The eyewitness accounts would be the common s