An Old School Catholic Message Board

another thread on exorcisms.......

infinitelord1

infinitelord1

is it possible that someone may be possessed by a demon and not know it.........ive wondered if someting like this may have happened to me........theres a story behind it..........when i had that drug experience that i mentioned in previous threads.........i look back on that experience and look at the people i was with. I was with 2 friends.........one of them was associated with vampire and satan cults (it was his whole idea to have this drug experience). As i mentioned before about how i was never the same after this experience.........everything in the world just seemed darker............i was wondering if someone is an expert on such a thing and if they could give me any valuable input.

Laudate_Dominum

I'm no expert, but demonic oppression is actually pretty common, although full blown possession is extremely rare. There could also be demonic obsession, which is a step down from possession.

What you describe does sound like demonic oppression could be in the picture. An exorcism is not necessary to remedy something of this sort. The normal means of grace (Confession, the Eucharist, etc..) are enough. But it can't hurt to seek the assistance of a priest who is knowledgeable on such matters. I'm just saying what I think based on my vague impression of the scenario, and in my lack of expert knowledge.

God bless you my friend.

A person can only become possessed if he wills it, but opression is more common. I believe that Blessed Teresa of Calcutta was opressed and the Archbishop called in an Exorcist for her.

[quote]A person can only become possessed if he wills it[/quote]

Does it then follow that if a person wills it, he will become possessed?

I mean, wouldn't that be like a good way to find out whether all this is true?

IcePrincessKRS

heh I don't think that willing an demon to come possess you is a good way to find anything out. :huh: