An Old School Catholic Message Board

Vocation From The Parents' Perspective

Perigrina

I have a 13 year old son whom I suspect may have a vocation to the priesthood.  Obviously, this is something that has to be worked out between him and God, but can people give me ideas on how I can foster it?  Or is praying the only thing I should do?

Spem in alium

Has your son been open with you about his vocation? Has he expressed the same thought to you, or is it coming from your own suspicions? 

I'm coming at this from a discerner's perspective. I have been discerning for two years, sense that I am being called to religious life, and have begun applying to a particular order. Since I first spoke with my parents about my discernment, they (particularly my father) have been supportive of and interested in my vocation. What has helped me most is my father's assurance that neither he nor my mother will push me to choose religious life or not - essentially, leaving me free to discern without worrying about feeling pressured or making them unhappy. They are very interested in learning more about religious life and in meeting the Sisters, and that has really meant a lot to me.