An Old School Catholic Message Board

What To Do With Life Until Entering Religious Life?

Blue.Rose

I'm in this waiting period of 1.5 - 2 years before I can start the entry process or whatever it is that is happening with me, if I get accepted that is.

Originally it was only 1 year but have to wait longer, so I'm studying and was working but left my job due to stressful working conditions.
Now I'm just lost because now what?

If I wasn't considering Religious life I would go to University and study something along the lines of Social Work but am not doing that with a Vocation in mind due to not wanting to wait years to pay off debts.

I'm in college and just studying at a Diploma level which I was told is good enough for my order and it's all paid off.
But my classes are only 2 evenings a week and I'm not qualified enough to get a good job anywhere yet so I think I will just study some more (do another qualification) just so I have more skills for the order I want to join.
But then there's always the problem that I might get rejected and I don't want to waste time.

Anyone else waiting to enter or explore religious life?
What do you do or think is best? Work or study? Volunteer?

I'm lost!

Well, you're not alone, anyway... :cry3:

I know the debt is scary (very scary), but when you said that you would study Social Work *if* you weren't discerning religious life, I wondered what your gut might be telling you about that pursuit. Discernment can be a very long and complicated process and I think its important, in the meantime, to focus on becoming more and more who you are as a person. Wherever you go in life, its going to be harder to be content if you can't be yourself or if you felt like a vocational decision forced you out of what you really wanted to do,