An Old School Catholic Message Board

First Discernment Retreat! Anything I Should Know?

futuresista

futuresista

Hi, I'm kinda new here! I've stalked for months now.

Any who! I just booked my flight to fly up to ann arbor for Dominican Sisters Mother Mary, Of the Eucharist! I've been on a retreat with Sister Jospeh and sister Mariana! 

I've been discerning religious life for two years and this is my first step towards visiting and such.

Anyone have tips or anything I should know about discernment retreats or discernment in general???

xoxoxo

Spem in alium

Hi! This is wonderful. I hope you enjoy your retreat.

The main thing I've learned in my discernment is to be patient and open to love. Seek the Lord, and everything else will follow :)

bardegaulois

Hello, Futuresista, and welcome. I'd guess the best I could say for this is to keep your eyes open. The sisters aren't selling their order to you, nor should you try to sell yourself. Sincereity is of the utmost necessity. You're sure to find things you like and things you dislike there. Meditate on these things in your heart.

When you return, I would make an appointment to see your spiritual director as soon as you can, and lay everything about your retreat before him for his opinion, which you should always obey. If you are strongly moved in any way by what you see with the Sisters, you might want to ask his opinion about working through The Spiritual Exercises of St. Ignatius. In my experience, working through these before any great decision is most advisable.

God bless.

Kayte Postle

Like everyone has said be open to whatever Christ has in store for you during the visit. I'd highly suggest taking a journal or notebook and make sure to write down whats going on through your mind during the retreat! This will help you as you spiritually unpack after the retreat and it's great to be able to go back to those entries.