An Old School Catholic Message Board

Study And Discernment.

Spem in alium

Spem in alium

Is anyone in this position at the moment - studying, with a few years left to go, yet discerning religious life?

I spoke to the vocations director of the order I'm interested in about it. It's been a long time since they've had a young person enter from my country, let alone one who is studying, so I don't know if they know how to take it.

I have a greater sense that I am called to religious life, and I really want to take my involvement with the Sisters to the next step, but I have to face the realities of my situation: I'm still studying and have a pile of debt I need to pay off. I will probably have less opportunities to visit, but I don't want to put my discernment on the back-burner - it's too much of a joy and reality for me to let go of.

How do you nurture your discernment without stopping altogether or compromising study? 

I'm studying until the end of the year but I deliberately chose a course that I could afford without going into debt and that also could be useful in the order I'm interested in.
I don't think you should quit studying because it will cost you and probably much better in the long term to have that qualification.
I've heard of communities helping pay off debts or helping people raise money to pay them off.

Can it work for you to finish study and pay it off and then enter? It will give plenty of discernment time to make sure Religious life is for you.

Spem in alium

When I started studying I wasn't discerning, so I didn't really think much about student loans or the fact that my university is private and fees are higher. In the end, though, the university I'm going to has been a true blessing and help in my discernment.