An Old School Catholic Message Board

Divine Office, Latin Vs English

Totally Franciscan

Totally Franciscan

I was just wondering if those who had been or are in religious life could help me with this.  Although I studied Latin for two years in high school, I wonder how one can pray the Divine Office without knowing what one is saying/chanting.  This is posing quite a dilemma for me.  Thanks for any help you can give me.

Mary's Child

I think at least in some communities that use the Latin Version of the office they have the English translations on the opposite page or another column on the same page. Also I think you learn what the words mean when you praying it every day I hope that is at least a bit helpful.

I never could understand why anyone would pray the Office in Latin, except because they wanted to be dead-language hipsters.

When I first joined our Secular Order, we prayed the Office in Latin.  It helped to have the English on one side of the page, but I never was able to make the transition to being able to pray in a language that was pretty foreign to me, and keeping my mind on the prayer.  While I loved the concept of praying the Latin liturgy, I found it to be a hindrance rather than a help.  Even after studying some of the language, and even though I knew what the psalms meant, it still was a huge distraction.