An Old School Catholic Message Board

Question About Vows

Gabriela

I just realized I am not clear on this point. Does the typical trajectory in religious life go like this?

Discernment

(Aspirancy)

Postulancy

Novitiate

Temporary Vows

Final Vows

Or like this?

Discernment

(Aspirancy)

Postulancy

Temporary Vows --> Novitiate

Final Vows

In other words: Are novices in temporary vows? Or do temporary vows come after the novitiate? (I'm pretty sure they come after...) And if they come after, then does a sister typically get her black veil at temporary vows, or does she continue to wear the white veil until final vows? If I recall correctly, the Passionists I interviewed had both novices and temporarily professed in white veils...

(I know the color of the veil depends on the community, but generally speaking, I mean!)

Marie Villalovos Smith

I am not an expert my any means, but those communities that I know it runs:

Discernment

Aspirant

postulant( 1/2 to 11/2 years)

novitiate ( who are in most cases receive the habit but do not take any vows)

Temporary Vows: Vow taken and repeated yearly for 3-6 years depending on the community

Final vows: from my understanding most communities re-affirm their vows every year.

The communities I have encountered do not have any form of vows during the Novitiate. The Novice lives the vows but does not make them. 

There may be exceptions, but I haven't seen any.

You make your temporary vows after the novitiate.

Edited by Lil'Nun

be_thou_my_vision

Some communities have the Sisters in the first couple years of temporary vows still live in the novitiate, but they are considered "temporary vowed" Sisters. They just are more under the care of the novice mistress at that point, I think.

ToJesusMyHeart