An Old School Catholic Message Board

Controversy Over A Certian School District

Tufsoles

Many of you might have heard the controversy over a transgender child using a certain bathroom at a Fountain Fort Carson School District School.

I am a Fountain Fort Carson grad and I am very proud of that but ....

This district is conservative in vaules but many of thier teachers tend to be liberal in Ideas and idealogy.I think the "conservative" vaules come from the pressure(enudendo of pressure) from several military bases in the area and the Air Force academy. There is a population(I have no clue what the size) of older students(Jr. High and High) that are very vocal about thier liberal American veiws.  I do have my stance which is totally in line with the Church's teaching. I do feel that either way that there is going to be a back lash. I am praying for the school district.  

I hope you all pray for this as well but do discuss how you all feel about this.

Evangetholic

In before everyone else, the transgendered student (and I do believe in the actual existence of transgenderism) ought be treated with love and compassion. If there is a non-gendered restroom s/he ought be allowed preferential usage of that one; if there is not, then the path of least resistance/pain/controversy would be to use the bathroom associated with their biological sex. I am not likely to follow this thread closely, but I affirm absolute loyalty to the Magisterium of the Church. 

I do have a freind that is transgender and I have treated them like a normal human and with compassion but it is a controversy and I wanted to bring this to the pham. I really want an open disscussion to this topic.   I actually found this though them and they wanted to let me know that this is going on and it would affect me as a person.

What's the debate? You know they added 'Q' to the LGBT. 'Q' for Questioning.  Now what toilet do they use?