An Old School Catholic Message Board

Valid Consecration?

dells_of_bittersweet

dells_of_bittersweet

This is not even close to being close to being licit. In this video, the priest ad libs the entire Eucharistic prayer and only sort of says the correct words of consecration. So the question is, is Jesus present or not? Is saying "this is my body" sufficient for valid form or do you need to get the rest of the prayer right also?

Here is the video. http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=KjMWbQ7UXOE&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DKjMWbQ7UXOE

ETA: there may be an issue with the link. Searching Rev. Pfleger Holy Thursday 2010 Eucharistic Prayer will probably get the job done.

Edited by dells_of_bittersweet

Ugh, what a ding-dong. I have heard the name Pfleger several times...

I am no expert, but I do want to say that it was valid, if only just. Assuming his intention was there, and assuming he used valid matter, then I think the minimal form was there, though obviously his ad-libbing was completely unjustifiable.

Other people perhaps can comment with more authority.

The words necessary for the consecration of the Eucharist are called by theologians the “form” of the sacrament. It is by the power of these words that the bread is transubstantiated into the Body of Christ, and the wine into his Blood. The words of consecration effect the sacrament.