An Old School Catholic Message Board

For Those Young Professionals Who Entered The Convent Or Seminary

HopefulBride

HopefulBride

OK so as my PM pham knows I've been journeying toward entrance for over two years now and it looks like I will be entering this year. I'm still working with Mother on getting my date set, the community has been absolutely wonderful in working with me to allow me to enter at a different date and also give me the opportunity to discern with them first hand.

On to my question, I've been working in Higher Education since 2003 and have pretty much made a career out of it (I would have probably consciously taken steps to move up if I wasn't discerning) I gave my boss notice about two weeks ago and as of September 28th I will be jobless (yikes!!!!) I know I will be entering this year and should the Lord show me otherwise I will gladly brave the job market. The problem I am having now is dealing with this sudden moments of panic when I realize that I have nothing.

Detachment has always been the thing I worry about but my job is the one thing I was good at and I am finding that I am having a real hard time letting go of it. In fact, I'm feeling the wind knocked out of me just as I write this and contemplate what I'm doing.

Anybody here left or is leaving a career to enter? I know I should trust Him and I do but wow I didn't know that my excitement would turn into something so close to terror! I know I need to pray and ask Our Lord to help but how do I make the light-headedness stop? I am literally getting light-headed as I type this and think about the fact that I am JOBLESS!!!

Oh HB, I am praying for you. That is a very terrifying feeling! The Lord must be extremely pleased with you right now..doing His will in the area of detachment even though it is hard for you.