An Old School Catholic Message Board

Ccm

Amppax

Well, its been slow around here. So, for the music debate!

Seriously though, I'm a musician, and this is something I'm interested in. The place of music in evangelization. This is off of a friend's Facebook wall, sparked an interesting discussion.

[quote]
[left][size=4][font=arial, helvetica, sans-serif]So... I'm about to formulate why I have such an angsty relationship with Contemporary Christian Music (CCM). Here we go.[/font][/size][/left]

[left][size=4][font=arial, helvetica, sans-serif][color=#333333]Pop-culture is necessarily popular (as the name suggests) and therefore requires its music to be easily marketable and universally appealing - thus producing a kind of signature "secular" sound which is heavily metrical with countless rhythmic variations. Popular music also req[/color][/font][/size][/left]