An Old School Catholic Message Board

Steubie Fights Back

add

http://www.foxnews.com/politics/2012/05/15/catholic-university-drops-student-health-insurance-cites-obamacare/

Take a stand, the Obama wars have begun

Who's side are you on?

I note that they only dropped the student health insurance... not the insurance the faculty and administrators have. I wonder why.

[quote name='Maggie' timestamp='1337218071' post='2431522']
I note that they only dropped the student health insurance... not the insurance the faculty and administrators have. I wonder why.
[/quote]

As a student I would love to know the answer to that myself.

[quote name='Maggie' timestamp='1337218071' post='2431522']
[/quote]

Economics

[quote name='mortify' timestamp='1337224702' post='2431555']
Economics
[/quote]

I think this is probably the case, given how much the student policies were increasing in cost, but if so why do they have to throw in the "we're being forced to choose between faith and insurance" bit. Clearly if that were the main concern they would drop the faculty insurance too. When they do this they just paint a big bullseye on all of us for our opponents to pick at...

[quote name='Maggie' timestamp='1337225175' post='2431557']
I think this is probably the case, given how much the student policies were increasing in cost, but if so why do they have to throw in the "we're being forced to choose between faith and insurance" bit. Clearly if that were the main concern they would drop the faculty insurance too. When they do this they just paint a big bullseye on all of us for our opponents to pick at...
[/quote]

I'm guessing that at a conservative Catholic college saying 'we're being forces by the accursed Obama' is more popular than 'we need to make an unpopular budget cut'

I don't think they're required to offer insurance to students, are they? Most students are eligible to join their parents' plan(s).

[quote name='qfnol31' timestamp='1337225648' post='2431561']