An Old School Catholic Message Board

If You Died Tonight Where Would You Go - How Would You Respond

thessalonian

How would you respond - If you died 2nite where would you go? Heaven or hell? This seems to be the most critical question for the Once Saved Always Saved crowd.
They make hay of people who say "well I would hope Jesus will take in to account the good that I have done". You gotta be sure of your salvation. So how would you answer?

Well, the virtue of Hope means we must trust that God will provide for us the means to salvation. I try to keep my Hope alive as much as possible, but it's hard when I continually fail to accept the means to salvation offered to me every day. I'm still learning, and I still struggle with some serious sins. For me, I have very good reason to a) avoid death and b) get my butt in the confessional as often as possible.

If a Fundie wanted to ask me about this I'd say "Gee, depends on if I've been to Confession recently, and if not, if I'd have adequate time to make my act of contrition before dropping dead. But hey, at least I have a plan, right?" Only half joking here. Obviously I try not to live with that attitude when it occurs to me, but knowing me, it's what I'd probably have to say on the average day.

Edited by arfink

Also, I'm fairly sure that I wouldn't mind them "making hay" of me, since I kinda need people to encourage my path to holiness.

EDIT: If I was feeling snarky I could say "Oh, I'd probably go to hell. Ask me again on Saturday, after I leave Confession. Then you better keep asking me every day, so I don't slip up. That'd be good."

Edited by arfink

[quote name='kamiller42' timestamp='1329441644' post='2388224']
I would be happy there are no baggage fees.
[/quote]

And no lines and full body scanners. :P

Seriously in answer to the question. Being realistic if I'm fortunate purgatory. If not the eternal fires of Hell.

AccountDeleted