An Old School Catholic Message Board

What To Expect On A Visit To Carmel?

ceciliatherese

ceciliatherese

Hi all,

I'm leaving tomorrow for an overnight visit at the Carmel of Elysburg. I'm really new to this (visiting monasteries and everything) and since me and Mother Stella Maria only do snail mail I didn't really have time to ask her about specifics. What would you all suggest I bring? Has anyone had any experience with this? I just want to sort of know what to expect :P Thanks for any help!

OnlySunshine

Well, since you're only going for an overnight visit, just bring the essentials - underwear, shirts, skirt, socks, PJs, shoes, chapel veil or scarf (FSSP does Latin Mass for them). My friend, Moriah, entered as a postulant there in December 2010 and will be clothed as a novice this month. She said that they pray the Latin version of the Divine Office, so they will most likely provide the prayers if you wish to follow along. I would definitely bring a prayer book and a rosary for private time in the Chapel. If you are staying in the guest house, they have pretty much all you need.

Also, it is customary to bring a small gift such as a basket of fruit (since Carmelites perpetually fast from meat) or a loaf of bread. Some suggest a bottle of wine for feast days or chocolate, too.