An Old School Catholic Message Board

How Young Is Too Young?

tnavarro61

A lot of times I was told before that I was too young to discern. I was even told by someone to enjoy life, as if I were not to enjoy life as a religious! I was told to finish high school, which is, of course, a sound advice. When I graduated high school, some would tell me to finish college first. Then what's next? I suppose I will receive an advice that says "go get girls" after college.

One time at the Cathedral, I've met some postulants and novices of my age. I then thought of minor seminarians, of priests who were inside the seminary when they were 13 years old. I've met a lot of religious since then who entered religious life at 17 and are now superiors. And they are not a few, there are a lot of them. This made me think: why should I postpone discernment [b]when I could[/b]? Why should I postpone my discernment because I am "too young" when a lot of religious started when they were of my age, some even younger?

Then, I "blasted off." I decided to answer the Lord's call promptly. The Lord doesn't deserve second thoughts. I've read good books regarding vocation (I suggest [b]Come Follow Me[/b] by Fr. Manelli and [b]Give Me Your Heart[/b] by the IVEs) and there I learned that we should not keep the Lord waiting, that one can follow the Lord as a religious at a young age. [i]It's possible.[/i]

I know and I understand that one must not take religious vocation lightly. One must discern seriously because this is a major decision. But does one has to be old to say that discerner is discerning seriously? Yeah, I understand that age contributes a lot because as one grows, he matures in thinking. But does graces come to us according to our age?

Any thoughts?
[img]http://www.turnbacktogod.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/10/jesus-with-children-1201.jpeg[/img]

AccountDeleted