An Old School Catholic Message Board

How Do You Know?

InPersonaChriste

InPersonaChriste

So,

I have been discerning for 5 years and I have always wondered about that "feeling" you get in your heart when you just "know" that you are called to be one thing or another. The thing is, I am always so doubtful that when I feel something I pass it off. I am always I guess not trusting in God enough because I am worried that I will turn out to be one of those people who like the thought of religious life but are actually not called.

I dont know if this actually makes sense but I guess that typing it down helps me think it out. :crazy:

In Persona Christe

Yoda

I think at some point you just have to trust. I asked a Sister that same question a few weeks ago, and she said "when you take your final vows". I think that's really good advice, because like you, I worry that it's my desire, not God's will. But God knows the deepest desires of your heart, knows what will bring you true joy in life. (I come that you might have life, and have it to the full -John 10:10). But if it is the life God has called you to, then you will perservere and have the courage to take final vows- that is when you "know" for sure, forever!

franciscanheart

I would answer similarly to Lisa. I can't tell you how you know, I think you just do. But at some point, thinking ceases to be enough. You must go, act, do. Go to the Lord and leave it in His hands. If you are meant to be a religious, you will be given the grace to know it.

MargaretTeresa

It makes me wanna quit school...or find a time machine and fast forward. [img]http://www.phatmass.com/phorum/public/style_emoticons/default/clap2.gif[/img]

[quote name='MargaretTeresa' timestamp='1303765868' post='2232797']
It makes me wanna quit school...or find a time machine and fast forward. [img]http://www.phatmass.com/phorum/public/style_emoticons/default/clap2.gif[/img]
[/quote]