An Old School Catholic Message Board

Sacramental Marriage Vs. Marriage Outside Of The Church

infinitelord1

infinitelord1

I was talking to a priest about marriage being valid outside of the church. He said there may be a difference between Catholic marriages and marriages outside of the Church but He wasn't sure. Is there a difference?

I have also heard of priests denying baptism to a couples infant because the couple was not married inside of the Church. Any thoughts?

Archaeology cat

I'm not an expert on the question regarding marriages, though I think non-Catholic, Christian marriages are presumed valid until proven otherwise, if I'm not mistaken.

As for baptisms, to me it makes sense that non-Catholic couples would be denied having their child baptised. If they weren't married in the Church, will they be truly able to promise to raise their child in the Church, as they are required to promise at baptism? How committed are they to following the teachings of the Church if they weren't married in the Church (or didn't have their marriage validated/blessed in the Church later)?

Marriage is hard under the best of circumstances. The sacrament is a gift to us to make it easier. Why wouldn't we want to be married in the church?

infinitelord1

[quote name='CatherineM' timestamp='1302356337' post='2227055']
Marriage is hard under the best of circumstances. The sacrament is a gift to us to make it easier. Why wouldn't we want to be married in the church?
[/quote]

I was thinking more about converts who were married beforehand and become Catholic. In this case, they wouldn't have to get married all over again. Right?