An Old School Catholic Message Board

Atheists And Hope

thessalonian

This has been bugging me. Maybe it shouldn't go in debate because I don't know if there are any here and so I doubt I will get the answers to what I am ponding. Maybe I'll have to go on an atheist board and post it. I am not a big proponent of pascals wager as it is really not a reason to believe in God but...

Atheists have to HOPE there is no God. Considering how the proverbial crud will hit the fan if there isn't wouldn't you think they would say "I believe there is not but I hope that there is". Except that runs them down the road of if there is, then what is required of me from him?

What an empty hope to hope there is no God.

[quote name='thessalonian' timestamp='1297107004' post='2209736']
This has been bugging me. Maybe it shouldn't go in debate because I don't know if there are any here and so I doubt I will get the answers to what I am ponding. Maybe I'll have to go on an atheist board and post it. I am not a big proponent of pascals wager as it is really not a reason to believe in God but...

Atheists have to HOPE there is no God. Considering how the proverbial crud will hit the fan if there isn't wouldn't you think they would say "I believe there is not but I hope that there is". Except that runs them down the road of if there is, then what is required of me from him?

What an empty hope to hope there is no God.
[/quote]

I guess I'm an atheist although I don't like to associate with atheists and the atheist movement.

A Muslim could say the same about you. How sad that you have to hope that the wonderful promises offered to believers in the Qur'an are lies. How said that you have to go through life hoping that you will never have to taste the terrible chastisement Allah reserves for those who reject his path.