An Old School Catholic Message Board

Can A Devout Catholic?

WarriorForJesus

WarriorForJesus

[color="#800080"]Is it your opinion that a devout Catholic can disagree with you on what Catholicism teaches?

IOW, are you well read, well studied in all things Catholic or do you still have elements of Catholicism to learn?

I know I am not an expert on all things Catholic.

Janice[/color]

[quote name='WarriorForJesus' timestamp='1288762833' post='2184367']
[color="#800080"]Is it your opinion that a devout Catholic can disagree with you on what Catholicism teaches?

IOW, are you well read, well studied in all things Catholic or do you still have elements of Catholicism to learn?

Janice[/color]
[/quote]
No, otherwise I might have converted.

If you believe the Catholic faith, you accept the truth of the Church's teachings even when you don't get it but recognize that you have learning to do to understand it. It is (or at least seems) fundamental that you accept the authority of the Church and it's teachings based on the Bible, et al.

As for well read, I have read various articles here and there, listened to a few Catholic sermons and youtube videos, attended a catechism class most of a school quarter, read a bit of the catechism, defended Catholic soteriology in debates, had a number of discussions with a Catholic campus minister, and a few other things, and have stuff I have not learned.

Edited by Light and Truth

Janice[/color]
[/quote]
Don't know what you're asking, but if you mean:
Can a devout Catholic disagree with the Church?

The answer is:
[u][b]No.[/b][/u]

[quote name='USAirwaysIHS' timestamp='1288764727' post='2184370']Don't know what you're asking, but if you mean:

The answer is: