An Old School Catholic Message Board

Explaining Why Convents Only Take 18-35 Year Olds?

loveletslive

loveletslive

i am having a good conversation with my islamic friend about vocations to religious life, but i can't quite explain why most communities only take 18-35 year olds. what are some reasons?

IgnatiusofLoyola

[quote name='loveletslive' date='24 July 2010 - 10:34 PM' timestamp='1280028842' post='2147708']
i am having a good conversation with my islamic friend about vocations to religious life, but i can't quite explain why most communities only take 18-35 year olds. what are some reasons?
[/quote]

There are some very good reasons, but since I'm not an expert on religious life, I'm going to ask the mods to move this post to the Vocation Station forum where the "experts" hang out.

BTW--There are good logical reasons, and there are also communities that accept older vocations.

There are a few reasons why this might be the case. women's communities seem to be stricter on the age thing than mens communities.

First is simnply practical. It is hard to adjust to religiopus life, and the older you are the more setn in your ways you become. It is simply easier to adapt the younger you are. Then again i joined when I was 45 and we have a postulant who is past 60 so its not a hard and fast rule. at least not for guys, generally speaking. The hardewst thing about this life is thee fact that you live and work with the same people 24/7.

Health! There are more and sooner health problems the older you are, so they want younger. It would be harder for them to get around, bills, having to drive to doctors, etc. But I think especially that older are harder to form.

It's frustrating, as I'm finding even younger limits, like to age 25, 27 or 30.

Edited by JoyfulLife

When I was discerning an older vocation, my spiritual director told me that I would have trouble adjusting. I was set in my ways, and used to being very independent.

IgnatiusofLoyola