An Old School Catholic Message Board

A Spiritual Director Would Sure Come In Handy.

tinytherese

tinytherese

I've been discerning for nine years. the last few have been more off and on discerning. There were also "complicated" times when I wasn't sure what I was called to. I kept religious life as an option, but didn't desire it. I remember last semester when a professor told this story about a young woman who was a nun that never felt one moment's peace in the convent, but her spiritual director insisted that it was a temptation. She took final vows and even then felt no peace. Later, she got a dispensation, got married and had children. This really spoke to me. I remember officially breaking off discerning and my soul was in such great peace. Lately, though especially, the thought that I haven't discerned the religious life properly is haunting me. I haven't been able to get another spiritual director and it looks as if I have to wait for the how manyeth time again for one in the fall. I'd also prefer to have spiritual direction face to face and not by correspondence. There's just no replacing doing it in person.