An Old School Catholic Message Board

I'm Entering

tnavarro61

It's my first time to put up a thread like this online.

So as the topic title says, I am entering... the grounds of the Benedictine monastery. But I'm not yet entering as a postulant. I am going to make an observership with the Benedctine monks of St. Ottilien hopefully by the end of April. I have made phone calls already. Last Friday I called, and the monk who answered said he's going to give my number to the Vocation director who is not in the monastery that time. It's monday now. Do you think I should check if he got my number or shall I wait for the phone call?

I am going to ride a plane to go there.. so pls pray for me.. I have terrible fear of heights and riding a plane. When I am thinking of riding a plane, I can't sleep. what if the plane crashes, what will I do? what if they ask me to jump to the sea, i cannot swim!

This will be my first time to make a live-in search-in (how do you call it). I have attended seminars on vocation. I know my twin brother whom i know is also discerning, will be very surprised. My family doesn't know that i am considering religious life.. So I do not know how to tell them that I am going to ride a plane to make an observership there.

Please help me.. I really need your help. I have other questions... what shall I bring?! When I asked this to the monk I've talked with, he said, "Just bring your clothes, everything will be provided for free". What clothes and how many clothes am I going to bring. And shoes, what shoes will I bring..

Im just so excited that I can't think properly. But I need my father's permission first and everything will be okay. Please pray for God's will to be done.. He might be hesitant because there's money involved ($100 will be needed for the roundtrip airplane ticket and it's expensive for us. Anyway I have $20 in my shelf but it's not enough.)

pray for me please.

Yours in Christ,
Thomas

http://www.digosmonks.org