An Old School Catholic Message Board

Roeder's Trial

lost_in_this_world

lost_in_this_world

anyone watch the trial or keeping up with it..

i caught most of roeder's time on the stand today and it was interesting..just wondering what other people thought

He has no justification for his actions that can satisfy the law in my opinion. Then again I'm not really an expert on this state's law. Even if the idea that he felt he was stopping Tiller from committing murder/abortion, he shot the guy in church and not while he was inserting his tools at work. There was no 'immediate' threat to life. Despite what Roeder says, I don't think it was simply a matter of convenience that he shot this guy at Church. Roeder was making a statement by shooting him in a church; had he wanted to end the guy's life and have a snowball's chance of a lessened conviction he should have done the deed at the guy's work.

That said, I do not think he should have done the deed. It's all an unfortunate situation. Tiller was a monster; however, one must not become a monster in the act of fighting monsters.

ThePenciledOne

[quote name='Veridicus' date='28 January 2010 - 08:26 PM' timestamp='1264724785' post='2046754']
however, one must not become a monster in the act of fighting monsters.
[/quote]

That's a paraphrase of Neitzsche's quote! haha :)

[quote name='ThePenciledOne' date='28 January 2010 - 06:28 PM' timestamp='1264724900' post='2046755']
That's a paraphrase of Neitzsche's quote! haha :)
[/quote]

yeah, I read stuff. :smokey:

:))

I think his attorney is doing him a mis-service for political reasons. I'm sure his fees are being paid by a pro-life fringe group, so his emphasis will be on the self defense of others. If he were truly representing his client's best interests, he would have pled non-compus due to his mental illness, and lack of proper medication.

[quote name='CatherineM' date='28 January 2010 - 11:29 PM' timestamp='1264739373' post='2047042']